Meaning of the Kazakh word “Eagilik”

What does “Eagilik” mean? That’s what I asked my nine teachers who came to “Books and Coffee” yesterday in the area of Kennasary and Valihanov streets in the old part of Astana.  The following is what my students wrote in answer to this difficult to define word.  Read beyond and see what they REALLY liked about Eagilik. Who says we don’t have anything to do in Astana, Kazakhstan?  Just go to Eagilik, Books and Coffee and find out that this is a “happening” place or a “watering hole” for expats and locals alike.

“Everything good is meant by this word.  When you want to wish goodness and want to show our good attention to somebody we say “I wish you eagilik.”  But it is a rare word, even an archaism.”

“The word “Eagilik” carries a good, positive meaning.  I think, there is no one word equivalent in English for this word, somehow, it means “luck” “good wish” “good things”; it combines all positive adjectives: happy, lucky, humane, rich, also it means wealth.”

“Doing people good”

“It means all happiness, wealth, etc.”

“I think that the Eagilik has a positive meaning when we say “Eagilikke bolsyn” we mean “Let it be for good luck!”

“Eagilik means, to my mind, a good thing or property or maybe good action”

“It means happiness, wealth, getting all people together in peaceful way, peace and so forth.”

“Urinik – it is good work for God; blessing”

What is your favorite thing about Eagilik?

“The favorite thing about Eagilik is the smell, gorgeous!”

“Eagilik is a place where you can have a course at English, read whatever you want, and even borrow it for some time, find famous DVDs in Kazakh, Russian and English or just entertain drinking coffee and making some research on the Internet if you have a laptop.  Really wonderful place. And what I like is here you can see some Kazakh authentic handworks (e.g. carpets), what you can’t find everywhere in this city.”

“More information about Kazakh traditions and customs for the foreigners.”

“I liked a lot of things here!

1)   Atmosphere is friendly, warm.

2)   Funny thing to put over your shoes – I like it!

3)   Books! Books! Books!

4)   I found “Walk the Line” and there are other good films!

5)   Coffee just like in Black and Brown coffee in Aktobe which really feels like home!

6)   Day was good

7)   Design is cool, a picture of an Old Man hanging on the wall

8)   Prices are much more modest than anywhere else I’ve seen in Astana”

 

“Books!  The atmosphere is amazing!!! I want to live here!

 

Coffee! Especially the smell of it, and the films and the atmosphere!

 

“The atmosphere and opportunities to combine going out and drinking coffee with ability to read or watch films.  That it is traditional Kazakh, pictures, photos are perfect and wonderful.”

 

“Atmosphere of the library! It is rather relaxive, comfortable and informative. ON my part, I felt as if I entered the world of fantasy.”

 

 

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Ryan Moore said,

    I miss Eagilik! In my short time in Astana I spent a lot of time there. It’s a special place for sure and I loved all the books.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment