Archive for July 10, 2017

Amber Waves of Glass and Broken Pain

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI knew I needed to get something done with all the glass and shards and ceramic pieces I am finding in a nearby field.  I’ve found buttons and marbles as well as old bones and teeth from long decayed animals from when this was a working farm with sheep, cows, horses and other critters.

What I find fascinating are the pieces that you turn over to find the name brand of the plate or that it was hand crafted or painted.  What did people do with this fine china if it was chipped or cracked?  They threw it out but sometimes it went into the outhouse. Well, now we have an outhouse remains that have surfaced after 60-70 years of being all covered up.  We had indoor plumbing for a long time but this century old house used to have an outhouse and my grandparents and aunts and uncle with my Dad used chamber pots as well.

I’ve needed to be creative lately, we are going through a family crisis period right now and it is NO fun to have personalities clash over what they deem as necessary in getting my 87 year old dad out of business.  Some of my siblings will have nothing to do with this, others are over involved. I’m the bystander that is closest to it all and I see what is happening. I’m sad by it all.

This too shall pass. I’m glad that I have an understanding husband who listens to me when I feel hurt or betrayed.  I’ve volunteered by hours and then when I show up to see how it is going, I’m accused of interrupting work in progress. AS IF I WAS THERE FOR HOURS when in fact it was only 15 minutes. I was checking to see what I could do the next day but this stop that I made seems to have been amplified and reported to another sibling. So then I hear “time is money” and I was wasting money by stopping to see how I could help and volunteer the next day…which I did.

I am willing to get my hands dirty and do some fairly bad chores…especially when I was cleaning out the furnace room. I finally had to use a shovel to scoop up all the debris, it was a hateful job.  But so is a LOT of other things that are left behind by a hoarder. I was going through one area in the main lobby and I found empty containers, about 7-10 of them that should have been trashed but instead were chucked away in a certain area. This same place had gallon containers that had a little bit at the bottom of it, not thrown. Glass, aluminum, scrap metal, paper, plastic…all of this has to be decided on and it wasn’t  done for 30 plus years.

So, I do the dirty work of a volunteer and I look into other options of selling inventory that could make lives living easier, especially for my parents. However, I hear the refrain that I stopped progress one day when my brother was sorting and wasted money. Wow, that is quite an accusation when I feel like as a volunteer I am not being recognized for the work I have done. I stopped by for 15 minutes and this is what I get?  Yet my brother can talk to me on the phone for over an hour or so and that is okay?  Time is LOVE, not money.  I keep hearing this that Time IS MONEY. I want to scream.  People are to use things and LOVE people but instead I see that there are those in my family who USE people and LOVE things!

Okay, that is why I do art to ease the pain. I’m accused of being domineering and trying to control.  Well, the person who makes that criticism is doing that in spades!  So, I will continue to be creative and NOT let this negative energy get to me. I need to be praying for these people who are hurting and angry and are striking out against those who are there to help.

Here’s my art so far!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment »