October about to End

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI realize I should post something before November approaches in two days. Above you can see the horizon’s sunrise last week. Very tranquil  I have been busy this month with canning vegetables, going to Florida for three days, teaching two composition classes and whatever else is on my plate.  Oh, I have been working at the Carnegie lately because I have to write about 5-6 articles with this grant that I was awarded, along with two other researchers for a total of 15 articles.  My brother came up to visit us last weekend which was fun to sit and talk to him late into the night.  Late for me is 10:30 p.m. for him that is just the start of the evening…he is a night ow.

Tomorrow is Halloween and I am not doing anything in honor of that day. My husband and I plan to hunker down and not celebrate in any way. We don’t have young children coming around in their costumes to beg for trick or TREATS!  Good thing, we would only have apples or pumpkin pie to serve them.  I have been selling 2017 calendars in this past week and they have been going like hotcakes.  You have to get those calendars out to people before they get them for free or they buy them.  Our two calendars are with the Carnegie and also the museum.  They seem to be even as to what people want to buy, not one is winning over the other. Both are different in what they emphasize, the Carnegie is colorful with people shots and the interior of the Carnegie.  The other is from 12 different towns in our county, old vintage photos.

Today after church I did something I wouldn’t normally do.  I made Killer Cleaning paste with 1 cup of baking soda, 4 T. hydrogen peroxide and 20 drops of lemon Essential oil.  The other is Natural Laundry detergent with 1 bar of grated soap, 1 cup of washing soda, 1 cup of borax (or additional washing soda) and 20 drops of Essential oil.  You are supposed to store that in an airtight glass jar.  Use 1-2 Tablespoons per load of laundry.

Finally we made Fizzy Bath Bombs with 1/2 cup citric acid, 1/2 cup baking soda, 1/4 c. corn starch, 1/4 cup olive oil, 4-5 drops of my favorite Essential oil. This all makes 1 1/2 cups.  You are supposed to let this sit for at least 24 hours in a Easter egg shell but putting it in a ball in a plastic works just as well.

Anyway, that is the latest I have to report of what I’ve been doing lately.  I should be preparing for tomorrow’s class but I’d rather write here instead.

 

 

Leave a Reply

