Birthday celebration with Sisters

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My mom’s bouquet and my card with decorative gourds

It started out as a lark about 3 weeks ago and it became a reality several days ago. I’m glad I went to celebrate my sister’s 60th birthday in Florida along with my two other sisters who live in Minnesota.  We all had different flight times for our arrival but the BIG day was Oct. 12th, Wed. and that is when we went to a nice restaurant that evening to celebrate with her family as well as us FOUR sisters!

What happened on the way down for me was that I had a plane change to make and I just wanted to sleep at the very beginning of my flights. My first flight was 5:00 a.m. in the morning!  That meant that my husband and I had to get up at 2:30 a.m. to get on the road by 3:00 a.m. to be at the airport by 4:00 a.m. to be leaving by 5:00 a.m.  I just had a carry on piece of luggage.

When I got to the bigger airport for a departure time of 9:00 a.m. I told them that I wanted a window seat so I could sleep.  That was accomplished and I was in the VERY back of the big plane that was loaded with over 200 people, no empty seats to Florida!  I heard that they were taking carry on luggage to be checked and I could get on the plane earlier.  That worked for me so I bolted forward to get my tag and make it to the end of the plane.  Apparently someone saw in the front rows, I’m not sure how she recognized me since I have NOT seen her in about 45 years.  People change!  I thought I had changed enough too.

The plane arrived in Florida and ordinarily I would have had my luggage with me but I had to go to the checked baggage area before I met up with my sister.  This person who knew me from high school was waiting for me to show up as her husband was retrieving their luggage.  I did NOT know who was calling my name.  She said her name and then of course I recognized her…she was a class below me. She told me she has read both my books on our hometown and loves to read my newspaper articles.  We gave each other hugs and I told her why I was down…to celebrate my sister’s birthday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When in Florida you MUST have painted nails!

So even though I don’t make any money writing these articles and I barely get any royalty on the books I’ve written for Arcadia press, I do have a following.  That was nice to know and despite the fact that I had NO make up on and was ready to swim in my sister’s pool, this person recognized me.  Small world, right?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Birthday girl with her adoring sisters

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

