Fall is here, much harvesting to do…

3 grape clustersI probably already wrote this but I am busy with harvesting of all of our crops out in our vegetable gardens. I pick tomatoes every day and give to my Mom who cans them in quart size jars. Then I also pick sweet peas every day so I can give to people as a little but nice bouquet.  These flowers won’t last long, so I am making the most of them around our yard light fence.  Yesterday was a strong wind and that helped me to see the pumpkins that are under the big leaves and also all the decorative gourds that we have.  I cut those and will bring to the Pioneer Day celebration next week.  People may want to buy them but they are soooo BIG that it is not your usual decorative gourd.  They look big enough to eat instead of placing in a cornucopia.

My husband and I picked most of the plums that were on our trees to the south, bumper crop this year.  I have given away about 8-9 gallons worth and probably have from last night about 7 or 8 more gallons to deal with.  I roasted some of them last night at 400 degrees for about a half hour and the juice that came out will make a nice plum jelly. I’ve never made plum jelly before, always jam.  I made three batches of grape jelly last weekend and have enough grape juice that I processed for probably another three batches. The problem is that we don’t eat much bread so why all the jelly and jam?  Have to preserve this somehow so they will make nice gifts in the winter time.  The jars look so colorful with the bright jelly inside and one friend of mine says she uses the jelly jar I gave her last year as decoration in her kitchen. She is not the canning, jelly making type so she wants to make it LOOK like she did it.  I should give her some other jars to further decorate her kitchen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

pumpkins from our west west garden

What else to do today on this fine Saturday?  I have to dig up all the potatoes and we have a LOT of them. Plus all the carrots and beets.  We are still getting yellow beans and I’m glad we are DONE with the snow peas. I just kept giving those away after I made two salads out of them.  We have some green peppers and have been eating Swiss chard when it is ready.  We had brocolli and cauliflower but not much.  I think we are supposed to have cabbage but I’m running out of interest in watering that.

Last night I pulled up many of my flowering begonias from the flower bed and potted them to take into work or the Carnegie.  I have a lot of healthy coleus that should be planted as well.  I need bigger pots for that.  Anyway, I finished two weeks of teaching two classes of composition so I have my students who are into their schedule and a good bunch of kids. They want to learn. I have one know it all type student who seems mouthy but he will be harmless…I hope.

We got our grant of $8,765 to write articles about our farming area and our town so there will be three of us researchers working on that in the next nine months.  Always something going on for which I am grateful I can do things still.  Having my folks out for supper tonight, they are busy in town getting their garden torn up to put back into lawn.  So, I better get outside and do things that need work before we get another big rain tomorrow and Monday.

Leave a Reply

