Monday, Monday, so good to me

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

our sunset at 5:30 p.m.

I guess that is a song, or the start of one.  I’m glad it was a good Monday of classes and then meeting up with people at noon and then office hours.  I have much to be thankful for especially after a very warm weekend where my husband and I could get much work done with moving things around at the Carnegie.  We need the carpenters to start work on the fire proof vault to have the old newspapers stored there.  Archives with newspapers that are as old as 1880s and 1890s.  They have all been scanned on microfilm. I don’t think we have the money to get them digitized.

My husband and I also went to the movie theater across the street from the Carnegie to see the movie “13 Hours” which is about Benghazi and what happened to people trapped there.  Grueling two hours watching how the brave ones did all they could to hold their ground, it was like a little Alamo with the acreage they had to cover.  They were ready and one of the stars of the team did get hit and died.  The movie makers knew how to go back and forth with these fierce men battle ready but they also had families they had been talking to by Skype or whatever when the bullets were not flying.

All in all, I would recommend the movie to show the lead up of why Libya messed up as a nation and how it affected many people on the ground.  What we were doing over there is a bit baffling, there had been too many years of dictatorship for the warring factions to have any kind of decorum about them.  They were heavily armed and were willing to use it against Americans.  Most of them got out alive but the ambassador Christopher Stevens did not fare so well. He had been in country only a couple of days before 9/11 and things were sealed off in anticipation of something happening. There were people giving those who were trained to defend the “Stand down” order.  That is also very, very perplexing.

So, I told my students about it and maybe a few will go. I told them that I held my husband’s hand the whole time as we watched the movie. Especially difficult was the aftermath as they were picking up the pieces, dead bodies and trying to get their lives back together.  Yes, on a Monday evening, I have a LOT to be thankful for because of what others before us have sacrificed for our freedoms.  I do NOT take that for granted.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Kazakhnomad’s Blog: A Westerner’s View of Kazakhstan […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

