New Era, more work but different

I turned in my semester grades on Monday and went to a work luncheon with 100s of employees yesterday. It is technically finished for me, now I have to clear out of my office eventually and then work on the most pressing things that are here at home.  Last night we mowed the lawn for the first time this spring for about 2 1/2 hours and that was good because now it is raining again. I should be out using Miracle Gro on some of the plants that need some sustenance using the wonderful rain water that collects in the rain barrel. I love that utilitarian yard piece. It is a simple, functional 50 gallon tub that collects water from the garage roof and house roof. If not caught, it is a LOT of the water that otherwise would just go into the ground.

It is necessary to stay ahead of the weeds and there was itch weed that I took out last night and need to replace that area with something else like daylilies or something invasive but pretty.  I also need to clear out another garden from weeds because we will paint the shop before our century farm celebration in August.  Much painting to accomplish with some of our other outbuildings and while the temps are cool enough is the right time to do it.   We also need to get a professional painter to come and help with our indoor painting up the stair ways.  When we first moved into this century old farmhouse I had done the painting of this tall ceiling but now I am ready to pay someone to do it instead.  It was scary to negotiate the scaffolding.  I also took that nasty fall a year ago, people don’t let me climb up a chair that is two feet off the ground.  This ceiling is about 20 feet high!

I have flowers to repot and put in the ground and then there are rooms to clean out so we can use them again.  So much has piled up of the museum work I have done or the writing I have done in the past several years. Time to clear that out and file it away so we can enjoy our upstairs rooms again.  Then there is teaching stuff that I need to purge or save, depending on how good the material is, how relevant to today’s students.

Attached is a photo of my great grandfather with his four sons, I don’t know the order of who the sons are (George, Hans and Andrew) and where they are standing. I DO know where my grandfather Ameel is standing. But that is another thing I want to accomplish this summer is figuring out my Dad’s side of the family before the Century Farm in August.  That would be a nice gift for my dad but also for all our relatives who are coming for this event. Sooo this may be a new era of not teaching but the work seems more intensive while I’m not paid to do it.  How does THAT work?

1895 ca FRONT Torkel Torkelson_ BACK unknown, unknown, Andre (1)

Leave a Reply

