So glad it is Friday and “Little by Little” progress in the classroom

This week was a creative mess, the students were well behaved after a week off with Spring Break. It helped that I got back on board first, as an example, and know exactly how some of these students felt.  I did NOT want to go back to school again after the week off. It felt like two weeks because I packed so much into those seven days off.  Therefore, in order to be proactive, I set up a calendar schedule of what the assignments that are due, when, so that the students could plan the end of their spring semester accordingly. They seemed to resonate with that plant. However, the problem was that I didn’t put all the assignment requirements in the little boxes…but that is what they were referring to when assignments were due today.

Oh my, at least they read that and my powerpoint but didn’t read the LAST slide where it was clear I wanted an introduction, working bibliography and outline of their fourth paper.  They missed the “outline” part and so I got things in fits and starts today in class…and AFTER class by e-mail. I put up a list of all the approved topics they will be writing about in their 2,000 word research paper with 8 academic sources for the APA formatted reference page.  Little by little I will get them to work on this project.  Some are really excited to do a paper on what they are knowledgeable about. I had them give feedback to others on their topic so they know they have an “audience.”

Here is a “Little by Little” poem that I put up several years ago on this blog.  Someone wrote the following for me and added extra stanzas than what I had.  “I eventually ran upon an archive of the Rockland County Journal (NY) dated December 9, 1865, with this poem titled Little by Little, attributed to the London Band of Hope:

One step and then another,
And the longest walk is ended ;
One stitch and then another,
And the largest rent is mended ;
One brick upon another,
And the highest wall is made ;
One flake upon another,
And the deepest snow is laid.

So the little coral workers,
By their slew but constant motion.
Have built those pretty islands
In the distant dark blue ocean;
And the noblest undertakings
Men’s wisdom hath conceived,
By oft-repeated efforts
Have been patiently achieved.

Then do not look disheartened
O’er the work you have to do,
And say that such a mighty task
You never can get through ;
But just endeavor, day by day.
Another point to gain,
And soon the mountain which you feared ;
Will prove to be a plain.

“Rome was not builded in a day,”
The ancient proverb teaches ;
And nature, by her trees and flowers,
The same sweet sermon preaches.
Think not of far off duties,
But duties which are near ;
And having once begun to work,
Resolve to persevere.

A little more looking, and it seems the London Band of Hope, or UK Band of Hope, etc., was/is a temperance society formed in 1847.”

I’m thankful for my readers of this blog, it has not been getting top priority from me for several years but I still care about Kazakhstan and maybe I will go back one day.  I’m thankful for my comp I students, little by little they will persevere and finish this course. I want them to succeed.

Leave a Reply

