On Vacation…Sort of

When you go on vacation, you are really at the mercy of those whom you stay with. You may think you are in control of your schedule, but you are not. Your hosts’ schedules come first and you work around that.  They have their set meal times and you go with that. Plus, the room you are staying in might be too cool but the bed’s comforter is just right.  The night before at our other host’s place, the bed may have been too small but the fan above kept things cool, rather than too warm.  Then there is the food issue, even though we packed enough food to give to others as gifts, we do not have our own snacks handy. Maybe we were too polite to take a second helping at the main meal.

This is our vacation for the next two weeks.  However, we will be more on our own for one week when we travel south to see the other grandkids.  We have our own rental car but it is a tiny, boxy little thing. We are used to our Toyota Camry that has ample space for others to ride with us.  We barely have room for our two smaller suitcases and two carryons. That is how small this “Spark” is.

On vacation but not from not knowing what is going to happen next with the grandkids nap schedules and feeding times.  I would LOVE to indulge in a nap, to just drop whatever is going on and catch up on a semester’s worth of sleep that was missed. I also feel like I need to be writing articles for our local newspaper because when you teach 85 freshmen students to write, there is NO time to do your own kind of writing.  Will there be space and time to get much needed writing done while on this vacation?  That would be my ideal vacation, to just sit and write when I want to and not have to do all this running around to see people.  But I LOVE seeing people to catch up, I just can’t do both.

I should not complain, we are in temps that are 60 degrees higher than where we came from in Minnesota.  We could get used to this very quickly but then we are not on our own schedule here, at least on vacation, we are not.  I think I could easily become a snowbird where I would have a little place that would look to the mountains and quietly write away.  I miss the mountains of Kazakhstan or Kyrgyzstan, I loved it when I would see the sunrises or sunsets with the mountains in the foreground.  Not where we are from in Minnesota, we only see the amazing colors in the morning or evening and perhaps with NO mountains we see more of it.  It has its own splendor.

Back to my vacation, it is 3:00 a.m. in the morning and I can’t sleep so I am sitting in the cold bathroom so my husband can continue to sleep. We will probably do play with the kids and then go shopping tomorrow, erh, I mean today.  I should go back to bed but I thought I would write about my vacation.  We have most of the presents wrapped for the kids and it is so much fun to play ball and catch with them.  The two year old has a natural skill with throwing and catching. I saw that already last year when he was a year younger.  The 4 year old has his own skills and talks more.  They are sooo much fun, so this “sort of” vacation is worth it to be able to catch up with the kiddlings.

Okay, over and out, I’m back to my vacation sleep time.

 

Leave a Reply

