Black Friday started on Thursday evening

I’m not a shopper at all…I used to be when I lived in the Cities and didn’t have much else to do.  I had friends who liked to go to malls with me and I would see many of my friends from college at this particular mall. That made the Cities feel small, bumping into people all the time.  Well, forty years later and I have NO interest in going to malls to just look. I have too much to do to waste time like that.  I can’t even imagine why people would go to a place to buy something and then wait in line for up to a half hour or longer to get the BEST deals.

Well, I had a rude awakening at our area chain store that had a deal going on at 6:00 p.m. and then another at 8:00 p.m.  When I got there at 7:00 there were cars, maybe 30 or so lined up around the back waiting to get their TV delivered into their car.  It was freakish to see the parking lot full of cars, I had never seen it so busy before.  My sister and her family went into this big shopping place to find some things they couldn’t find in the Cities.  One of the things was the DVD named “24” which is into its third series.  I thought I might like it but according to my sister, there is a dark side to it. Apparently it hooks the audience because it is a kind of “who-done-it” series.  I guess I don’t have time for that either.

I had my sister tell me which was the best cat food to get for our feral cat that adopted us.  It is black with a touch of white and we call it Blackie for lack of anything else to name it.  It is not so wild now because it came right up to Ken when he brought more food to it, it was willing to be petted. Seems that it is NOT so wild then.  We need a good mouser on our place, also an animal that will take out the pesky gophers that make mounds of dirt in our lawn.  Pesky is a nice term for these critters.  Anyway, next spring Blackie will have a field day with all the critters that have had free reign of our place next to our two vegetable gardens.

It was a nice visit with my sister and her family. We played Mexican train dominoes and the youngest one won the game. I failed miserably but it seems it is the luck of the draw of what tiles you pick up.  I had wanted to sing Christmas carols but people were not game to do that so I settled for just eating together, laughing together and playing this silly game but there were 7 of us so that made it a fun family time.

Reality will hit that my vacation is over when I am back to getting papers graded to hand back on Monday and then also prepare something else for my Comp Lab classes.  I can see the end of the semester is nigh.  I am looking forward to it.  Black Friday is past, this semester is almost past, I look forward to an evening where I don’t have to frantically think about what I am going to do for my classes the next day.  Panic button hits usually on Sunday night in anticipation of what I will do with my five classes on Monday.

Leave a Reply

