Biking around town with a 14 year old nephew

I needed the exercise yesterday. I wanted to make sure that my 14 year old nephew from the Cities experienced our small town from the outside and going in. We had our helmets on and I took the bypass highways at a pretty good clip. We were passed by big industrial trucks and semis and I was okay with that. My nephew, however, prefers mountain biking with his dad. Yes, he loves nature and is good help to his mom in their one acre spread with her wooded, shady garden.

However, I asked if he enjoyed Dairy Queens in the wooded areas of his mountain trails. No, probably not. He spotted the DQ and of course we had to cross over the four lane interstate highway to get his favorite blizzard which he couldn’t finish. Guess who had the honors in downing the rest of the $4.50 blizzard? Yes, you are right! I then knew we had to bike extra miles and extra hard because I had already downed a Buster Bar! Oh my!

So, we took in the thrift store after leaving the golf course area and then to the library to retrieve his earbuds that he forgot the day before. We had stocked up on plums that were out for FREE at the food shelf. I may go back for more so I can make plum jelly. We have plums but nothing as big as the ones we put in bags. They are tasty!

After that we went to a war memorial when we had seen the damage done in one of the additions from the tornado that passed through a week before. LOTS of trees down and people had mostly cleaned up and it had been taken away but it was easy to imagine all the chaos that was created with the tornado. Also, we went east of town to see the path of the tornado in the trees near homes that are out in the country. Along the way we met up with some Canadians who were passing through and had 450 miles left to go to get home.

That was our tour of the city which I kept saying it was about 8 miles that we biked. It was probably a lot more. My intention was to tire out my 14 year old nephew so he would sleep well for the night. Here I am up at a very early hour and he is sleeping after watching two DVD movies. Well, I will put him to work at hacking down noxious weeds like thistles and itch weed later this morning when he is up.

I have some writing to do so I should be doing that but I had to recount the day I spent yesterday during a beautiful high 70s day, slight breeze. We have to appreciate our very tolerable summer days while we have them. Soon enough it will be cold winter again. The green everywhere is healthy for us.

Leave a Reply

