More Chinese Students Respond to “Fine Arts”

I know, this post has nothing to do with Kazakhstan. However, I’m absorbed with teaching my 38 students from China better English writing skills.  Yesterday, I shared what our Chinese students wrote about their trip to the Twin Cities. Enjoy more of the same:

Frank: This weekend we went to the Twin Cities with my class. We really had a lot of fun. I really liked the art museum. That is really a quiet place and it let my heart become quick too. In the museum I saw van Gogh’s picture. When I see it closely, I can even feel what van Gogh wanted to tell us. We also see some Chinese things like Chinese picture and jade. I learned some Chinese culture that I don’t know before. We also saw a theater play called “Noises off.” At first I think that is boring theater. But after the first chapter, the thing change and it is really funny. The relationship between those 9 people is really confusion. The show tells us the thing happened in the back stage and the front stage. It is really interesting to see that theater. It not only practiced my English but let me know about the America art. I think the America is much open than China because they can say more things and can act more freely. That gives the actor more imagination. I think it is good for art. I think Chinese arts can be more connotation because Chinese culture is just like that. Although I feel really tired, the scholar is really full and I still enjoy this trip.

************

Zoe – A Special experience in the theater – Today is the first time I come to a theater in America, and we are divided into two groups to watch different dramas. The group I joined watched a drama named “The Sunshine Boy”. This drama told us a story about two comedians, who didn’t like each other but were invited to cooperate for an important TV show. When I came into the theater, the pleasant atmosphere and interesting layout were attracted me. Not only me, but also members in the same group, were very excited and curious about anything we saw. This show took almost three hours, and there was a short break for us to relax. According to actors’ brilliant performance and the hand-out we had gotten, we could understand the whole story easier than our imagination. Through this drama, I knew more about the American humor. And I also knew about how to show our respect to actors and workers in such a situation, our applause and smile are the best expression for them.

This interesting experience left a memorable impression on me, and let me know the importance of the fine arts. When I left the theater, I felt very relaxed even more than if I had more sleep. It is a real good way to relax, to enjoy your life, and also I can change the way of thinking. And it is closer to our life than other media and so on. I trust it will be a choice for me when I need to have fun and relax!

****************

Joe: Art gallery is nice place to visit. There are many paintings, sculptures, and Chinese fine arts.

I saw a sculpture called “Veiled Lady” in 1860 which was made by Raffaelo Monti. In Italy during the 1700s, sculptures of veiled figures peaked in popularity, to delicately carve marble. Nearly 200 years later, artists revived this technically demanding tradition in reaction to the academic neoclassicism of the early-19th century. Raffaelo Monti is known for marble busts draped in filmy veils such as this one, subtly modeled to suggest feminine allure. That is the background of this work.

The Chinese fine arts are very nice. I am glad to see my country’s things and I think in the future everyone will enjoy its beauty. Next day we entered the Science Museum of Minnesota, it is different from Chinese style but good. And I saw my first theatre in “Noises off.” This theatre piece had three chapters, it is so funny although I cannot understand all they said.

Now, we come to our room and write down our experience to remember how we pass this unforgettable trip.

************

Limo – In my opinion, I prefer the fine arts part. Because, it is totally different from China. In China, one of the most famous fine arts is shadow puppet. However, in America, from what we saw is the drama play in a theater. In my group, we have seen ”Noise Off” which is a really funny play. It made us laugh again and again. We could find out that Freddie usually pull his pants down, showing his white shorts. As well as Dotty played as a steward who always forgot bringing sardine. I think Brooke has also played very well, she definitely made herself into the drama. The others also did good jobs. Therefore, we can see the America culture from this play I think is making people laugh and happy. It is different from China.

 *************

Leo – The place which impresses me most is the Minnesota Institute of Arts. We took an Asia art tour in this museum and looked at many ancient art in East Asia, including China and Korea and Japan. Because I’m very familiar with Japanese culture, I will write about the differences and similarities between Chinese and Japanese art.

In the Minnesota Institute of Arts, I saw a picture named the Battle of Yashima and Ichinotani, which drawing two battlse in Genpei War, a famous and effective campaign between the Minamoto House and Taira House in Japan history. This picture is just like a kind of Manga or Lianhuanhua, because it used a way of dividing story into several pages and then it can express how the story develops more easily. For example, in the left side of the picture, we can see a general who is followed with many riding samurais, whose name is Minamoto no Yoshisune. He is a younger brother of Minamoto no Yoritomo, the first Bakufu Shogun in Kamakura Period and Japan history. In addition, Yoshizane is considered one of the greatest samurai in the history of Japan. And in the middle of the picture, we can see Yoritomo is fighting with a samurai of Taira house whose name is Taira no tomomori, the general of army of Taira House in Ichinotani. The two pictures describe two events happening in the battle of Ichinotani. This is similar as Chinese Lianhuanhua, but there are also differences between them. For example, in Lianhuanhua, description usually concentrate more on the main actor but in this picture drawer usually concentrate more on the whole battle because sometimes they want this picture to be a textbook to thos samurais who need to study how to make a battle.

Leave a Reply

