Critical Comment on my Blog and Positive Quotes

No one likes to get criticism unless it is meant to be constructive and said in love.  I got a vaguely caustic comment from some Aliya in the U.S. who has a Russian “ru” e-mail address.  Presumably she is Kazakh and maybe on a Bolashak scholarship or on some other scholarship at some American university.  In any case, she felt entitled to call herself “Anti” and give me some negative feedback.  Fine, I just deleted her comment because I didn’t know what she was referring to and what she was so “ANTI” about.  I used to get critical comments on my blog in Russian but now my dissenters are becoming more bold in English.  That’s fine, bring it on.

Today I am thinking ahead to a month from now when I will have expatriates of the international community come out to our university to listen to my ten students give their ppt presentations on their research topics.  This will raise the bar to have native speakers of English and other ambassador’s wives from various countries come and listen and give their critiques and evaluations of each speech.  I believe they are in for a treat because my students are up to the task, their English is VERY good and their research topics are compelling!

I thought the following were appropriate for my Professional Development students to think about as they gear up for their speeches:

Andrew Carnegie – “As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say.  I just watch what they do.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson – “Do the thing you fear and the death of fear is certain.”

Henri Fauconnier – “In the last resort, nothing is ridiculous except the fear of being so.”

Mark Twain – “Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear – not absence of fear.”

Dale Carnegie – “Remember, fear does not exist anywhere except in the mind.”

Winston Churchill– “Courage…is the quality which guarantees all others.”

Marcus Aurelius – “Our life is what our thoughts make it.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson – “A man is what he thinks about all day long.”

Samuel Johnson – “Self confidence is the first requisite to great undertakings.”

John G. Shedd – “I like a man who bubbles over with enthusiasm.  Better be a geyser than a mud puddle.”

Mary, Queen of Scots – “We are not who we are but what is said of us and what we read in others’ eyes.”

I feel sorry for Aliya, the Sourpuss, who must be miserable where she is studying.  She probably wants to be back with her family and friends in Kazakhstan and is having difficulty adjusting to life in the U.S.  She is missing a wonderful time here in Astana and Almaty with the Asian Winter Games going on.  Be positive Aliya, think positive!!!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Sometimes I do have fears, mostly these fears are connected with the things that I am afraid to loose! And right now the very first one is the fear to go away from Astana. I don’t want it happen> As you used to hear” I found my place in Kazakhstan, And I am to find my place in Astana” I am really do mean it, because Astana is my future development.
    I like Ralph Waldo Emerson – “Do the thing you fear and the death of fear is certain.” I think it is what I should try. If you treat things with “I don’t care”, mostly you succeed. I mean I succeed!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

