Sobering News from my taxi driver

Another day like yesterday but not as bad, I’m ready to go home and just “vedge” out with a DVD after eating wild rice, vegetable soup.  Not as cold in Astana today which makes everyone seem friendlier.  My faithful taxi driver Yaheya took me to work today and he never fails to bring up world news.  This morning he talked about the tragedy in Moscow where there were 35 dead and about 180 wounded after an explosion in the airport.  I think I got the numbers right. This conversation with Yaheya was all in Russian and sobering for my early morning going to work thoughts.  I pity the Russian families who are dealing with this latest sad tragedy.

Here are some other thoughts that are a bit more uplifting, if they are true:

Apparently Albert Einstein once said if he had one hour to save the world, he would spend 55 minutes defining the problem and only five minutes finding the solution.  I do believe we need a solution to this terrorism that stalks many airports and also our schools and universities.  Our world has been turned upside down by hate-crazed people who want to plague others with terrorist tactics.  I wonder how Einstein would have solved this problem of terrorism?

Did Napolean really say this about what he does about problems?  “My genius is that with a quick glance, I cover all the difficulties of a situation, but at the same time all resources to overcome these difficulties and that is the reason why I have superiority over others.”  I think this little man was an egoist, as my students like to write.  I’d say ego-maniac would be more descriptive of Napolean.

“Reading a book means gaining an author’s lifetime experience.” I would agree with that and I have also heard it said that usually a person who writes has only two books to write. One on his particular topic and another on himself (autobiography) when he becomes famous with his first topic.  All other books that follow are the same theme and formula.  I suppose there are those authors that try different genres but that is what I read somewhere.

I like the following quote of what Prophet Mohammed said:

“If you are concerned about next year, plant rice.

If you care about 10 years, plant a tree,

If you worry about centuries, raise educated children.”

I’m glad I have my PDP students, they are working hard on their final project.  I worked out a tentative schedule for the rest of the time we have together this year.  I will miss these dear students but I feel that I am planting a harvest of good seed with these very active teachers who will sow more seeds with their pupils.

Leave a Reply

