Robert Louis Stevenson’s poem about the Wind (in Astana)

Yesterday I should have googled the poem by Robert Louis Stevenson to make sure I got it right.  Turns out the poem I featured yesterday was only the last of three stanzas. However, what I wrote applies specifically to Astana winds.  The first stanza  is rather dated about women’s skirts rustling, but it still makes for a good read when you consider that in about 4-5 months people will be putting their kites into the wind.  That reminds me that we should watch the movie “Kite Runner” again.  Ken and I watched “Letters to Juliet” last night with not even getting close to midnight. We kissed each other goodnight around 10 p.m. and lights out. The new year of 2011 turned up happy with more snow and WIND!!!

The following is the complete Stevenson poem which he wrote for a children’s poetry book. He must have lived in Astana or in northwestern Minnesota (how else would he know to write something so descriptive?)  Titled simply “The Wind.”

I saw you toss the kites on high
And blow the birds about the sky;
And all around I heard you pass,
Like ladies' skirts across the grass--
     O wind, a-blowing all day long,
     O wind, that sings so loud a song!

I saw the different things you did,
But always you yourself you hid.
I felt you push, I heard you call,
I could not see yourself at all--
     O wind, a-blowing all day long,
     O wind, that sings so loud a song!

O you that are so strong and cold,
O blower, are you young or old?
Are you a beast of field and tree,
Or just a stronger child than me?
     O wind, a-blowing all day long,
     O wind, that sings so loud a song!

Leave a Reply

