No More J-Stor, Just Moodle Today

Today felt like a Friday but with the hyper intensity of a Tuesday.  My adult learners worked hard in the computer lab for two and half hours.  They know they have to because they can’t get reliable computer access anywhere else except maybe at their school or at home.  Not everyone has computers at homes, especially educators who can’t afford a computer or the Internet connection.  I felt like we all needed a break so we all entered the chat room except two who were working on one of their assignments and couldn’t break away for even a little chatting by the virtual water cooler.

Okay, so the J-Stor gods are mad.  Apparently our university inundated the trial period so nix on that.  I had wanted my students to register and try out the trial period but anyone who registered on my computer yesterday couldn’t access today.  Too bad, back to Ebscohost and Oxford Journals that our library has already subscribed to.  Next week, we will have to do more work on their final portfolios.  Where is this semester going?  I think we are going into Week Six or is it Seven and we were only going to do ten weeks or is it 11?  I should know these things but my syllabus was thrown out the window after having to do nomadic teaching for the first three weeks.  Things are normalizing for all of us.

Well, I could not be prouder of some of my more prolific students.  “New Challenge,” who is on my blog roll, already got a comment from someone outside of our class.  That is always a heady experience when you have gotten the attention of someone besides your classmates and teacher. (It used to be just my Mom who would care enough to read my blogs in the early days)

This person who commented  on my student’s blog wrote that he was travelling through Kazakhstan and is VERY concerned about human trafficking.  I believe he and others are doing something about it.  So, the power of the Internet is helping make people more aware of what started out from a simple book titled “Two Kyrgyz Women.”  I’m glad there are those who care enough to come from a great distance to help these women escape their sad realities.

Thankfully these Kyrgyz women had their frightening and horrific stories to tell and someone who listened and wrote it down.  NOW, after my students read about these Kyrgyz women and finding out about their plight, well, the ripple effect is ever widening.  They are telling their students and more people in education are finding out about what is a very difficult thing to talk or write about.

I wish you could see all the insightful writings I see on Moodle written by my adult learners.  They are a part of the future wave of this great country of Kazakhstan, they are riding this tidal wave and hopefully bringing others with them.  What an exciting time to be living in this land of mystery and promise!

Leave a Reply

