Changed my prejudice against Wikipedia (part II)

Following are two more candidates’ submissions for potentially being published in Wikipedia. Certainly a very beginning stage but has lots of potential because there are many foreigners who ARE interested in Kazakhstan.  The first is by Ainagul:

After reading this article [by Christine M. Tardy in the English Teaching FORUM, 2010], “What if I put my own contribution to this site, too?” This is a good opportunity for us 1) to learn writing an article Wikipedia style 2) as there is very little information about Kazakh famous people, some historical places, events written in the English language, our articles will be useful for either our native students or for students abroad who want to learn more about our country.

So, I’ve decided to write about a famous Kuishi (a man who plays a dombyra) Nurpeis Bayganin, if I ever have a chance to write for Wikipedia.  Because he is from my village.  His grandchildren still live in our village near our house.  This year we celebrated his 120th anniversary.  A great day took place in the center of our region, so many guest were called.  But, unfortunately, there is nothing about his life, his great work, though his contribution put to our native art is priceless.

The second possible submission is by Aliya, I hope she can succeed in writing and eventually publishing in Wikipedia:

I’d like to write about Kazakh national wedding and/or Kazakh national wedding dress.  I don’t like the mixed sorts of weddings that are carried out nowadays.  I think we should differentiate/choose what kind of wedding we want to have.  Nowadays not everybody knows about original Kazakh wedding.  Even I myself do not know much about it because today when carrying out a wedding we do not know whether these or those traditions are our own or they are from other nationalities.  Only “Betashar” is widely known but I’m sure that there are many other traditions.

 

As for a wedding dress, I do love European and modern dresses.  But, on the other hand, our Kazakh national wedding dress is wonderful too!  It is symbolic, each item on the dress means something.  As for a modern dress, there is only white colour that is left symbolic. 

 

In my opinion, when writing an article you learn much and that’s why I choose the theme that I’m not an expert in but which I’m much interested in.  Because as a result of the research work, I will know more about the subject that is interesting for me.

Leave a Reply

