Bitterly Cold Astana, Kazakhstan…but it’s hospitable weather now…

Astana, Kazakhstan is beautiful now in the summer months so it is easy to forget just how very bitterly cold it can become in the dead of winter. (that’s not an overstatement!!!)  The same can be said of northwestern Minnesota, it is currently full of green but just wait until November or December when “the winds howl down from the northern plain, the frost is white on the window pane…” [favorite high school song “Sand in my Shoes”, hat tip to you Janis]

So it has been VERY hot and without rain in Astana for the last several weeks, some would say it is a drought.  What is this talk about temps being so cold out in February or March that you can barely walk the two blocks to work?  If the cold doesn’t get you, the blasted winds do. Not too long ago, a short three months ago, I was standing at the stoplight and I have enough substance that not much can move me.  However, I do recall being blown in the wrong direction over the tundra into what could have been an oncoming car or truck.  Not good.  I hung on to the stoplight for dear life, until the light turned green for me and then I minced as quickly as I could across the street to the other side against the onslaught of the driving wind.

I don’t think a demonstration could ever happen in the coldest part of the year in Astana (that would be about six months perhaps). Those who would choose to make their voice be heard in numbers would do so in the other six months of the year.  I don’t think that is going to happen.  Anyway, Astana is not an inviting place to live or work but since that is where all the money is being poured and where the jobs are, the buildings continue to go up.  “Build it and they will come” as the famous line in the baseball movie “Field of Dreams.”

If you think you are hot right now, look at these cool photos taken in Astana of artwork from years gone by.  They didn’t have air conditioners or electric fans in the summer nor did they have heaters in the winter.  Living in Kazakhstan in the 21st century is a good thing.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Tim said,

    I am looking for the song referred to as “…but just wait until November or December when “the winds howl down from the northern plain, the frost is white on the window pane…” [favorite high school song “Sand in my Shoes”, hat tip to you Janis]” Any idea how to find it?

    • 2

      kazaknomad said,

      Tim, I think you are looking for a different song than the one we sang in the late 1960s. Hope you find it.

  2. 3

    Waxhaw said,

    Goodbye Molly dear,it’s break of day and the white sands call me to Mahoe Bay.

  3. 4

    Debba said,

    “Goodbye Molly dear I’m on my way but come next spring I’ll be home to stay…” I remember that song from school too, but I’ve never been able to find a reference to it online until I came across this blog. I don’t know who wrote the song, where it came from. Just remember singing it back in the early 70s.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

