Bare Necessities and More Star Spangled Verses

Yesterday someone sang a verse I hadn’t heard before to our national anthem. It struck me that I only knew the first verse because we hear at every game back in the U.S.  This person sang from the heart which brought tears to my eyes.  Actually, truth be told, the tears were rolling down my cheeks, I couldn’t stop crying.  I know that every country represented in the Buddy Bears has their faithful and loyal country men.  In fact, I just met a girl named Olga from Moldova who was so tickled to see a photo of the Moldovan Buddy Bear when I showed her my slideshow of photos I’d taken.  Probably Moldova’s is one of my favorite because it shows the artist’s humor of being from a small country that noone seems to know about.  Take a look on the map and you will find Moldova next to Ukraine.  Kazakhstan is a much larger country, too big to ignore but people do and I hope that that changes.  It is an amazing country next to my own, of course.  I would hope that all Kazakhs and Kazakhstanis love their country and try to promote it by being the best they can be.

I know this is premature to blog about the Star Spangled Banner before Fourth of July but I think the words are so rich and meaningful.  Since I have lived in other countries away from my homeland for almost 16 years, I believe it makes me even more loyal and more patriotic to be an American.  Our country where we are born is part of our bare necessities, just like having one’s own family.  I am also very blessed to have a wonderful family as well. The last three verses of the American national anthem:

“On the shore, dimly seen through the mists of the deep,

Where the foe’s haughty host in dread silence reposes,

What is that which the breeze, o’er the towering steep,

As it fitfully blows, half conceals, half discloses?

Now it catches the gleam of the morning’s first beam,

In full glory reflected now shines in the stream:

‘Tis the star-spangled banner! Oh long may it wave

O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!

***

And where is that band who so vauntingly swore

That the havoc of war and the battle’s confusion,

A home and a country should leave us no more!

Their blood has washed out their foul footsteps’ pollution.

No refuge could save the hireling and slave

From the terror of flight, or the gloom of the grave:

And the star-spangled banner in triumph doth wave

O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!

***

Oh! thus be it ever, when freemen shall stand

Between their loved home and the war’s desolation!

Blest with victory and peace, may the heav’n rescued land

Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation.

Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,

And this be our motto: “In God is our trust.”

And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave

O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!”

Leave a Reply

