Visualize “Whirled Peas” Continues in Astana

Happy May 17th to Norway, this is their proud day of remembering their independence as a country.  I celebrated with my Norwegian relatives Stavanger in May of 1983 when I had just returned from my two year Peace Corps stint in the Philippines.  Difficult to go from third world experience to Norway’s first world. We were treated to so many nice meals and too much food (lefse – like bilini and gjetost – goat cheese) by our Norwegian hosts.  My dear grandma Dagny had so many Norwegian relatives she had kept up with from her childhood days, we had a rigorous schedule to keep to.  However, one day in this blurring whirlwind of activities, I just had to take a break from it all.  My head was in a spin about how one country had so much (Norway) while the Philippines had so little.

Yesterday I discussed with some friends the difference between cold cultures and warm cultures.  Norway by necessity has to produce and store food (think lutefisk – cod in lye) being in the northern climes while in the Philippines, closer to the equator, the Filipinos can pull off bananas and coconuts from trees year round.  Thus, efficiency and function is more important in cold cultures whereas in warm cultures, relations are the most important.  I’m living in a warm culture in Kazakhstan where relationship is most important even though winter in Astana can be bitterly cold. Go figure!!!

Some people may not have gotten the connection between Buddy Bears and their promotion of world peace with my title on yesterday’s blog of “whirled peas.”  At risk of being redundant but since I’m not feeling too creative today, I’ll continue to visualize world peace with more photos of the Buddy Bears.  I actually took more photos today, such an amazing display of color.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    René said,

    I got interested in your blog since i visited kazakstan 3 years ago (astana, pavlodar, almaty) while touristing throught eastern part of russia.

    If i may ask: hat is your job or function un in kazakhsstan?

    René

    Like the picture of this bear display

    aslo excuse my english…it isn’t my native language.

    • 2

      kazaknomad said,

      Thanks Rene for writing on my blog, I hope you can come to visit Astana during the summer, its a great place for tourists!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

