Abstract art and Kazakhstan

I like rustic, realist kind of art that I’ve shown this past week with Philip R. Goodwin’s prints.  I also like abstract art and I just met an artist when I was in the Boston area last week who sells her meter by a meter artwork for about $4,000 a piece.  She has a LOT of inventory and if I could afford her work, I would buy from Kathleen Cammarata.  She likes doing earth tones and I like anything green.  This one reminds me of a satellite photo of the earth. I did capture this one painting in Kathleen’s studio with the okay from her husband Frank R. Thoms.  It was wonderful to see her vivid colors in abstract form.

Why do I like abstract art?  I did acrylics while I was in college and soon after I graduated, much in primary and secondary colors but I also loved to do oil paintings.  I LOVE the smell of oil maybe because it hearkens back to fond memories my grandpa on my Dad’s side.  In his waning years, he took up a paint brush after being a lumberman, carpenter and a farmer. When I was in grade school I would brag about how he was a famous artist, little knowing that he was just an amateur.  But back 100 years ago, you had to be a jack-of-all-trades by necessity.  My dear grandpa was all of that and a master of all!!!  That was the only way to survive in the hinterlands of northwestern Minnesota and in Canada where my grandpa spent much of his time.  He loved to fish and hunt too.

Why do I like both abstract and realist art?  Because I know that both styles take a lot of talent and much sweat equity.  When the economy tanks, the artists and musicians feel it.  So, I’m hoping that Kathleen can sell her huge inventory and I hope others like Kazakhstan’s artist Nelly Bube can have enduring art and still be rewarded monetarily.  I’ve written about the Kazakhstani artist Nelly Bube before, I’d like to get more of her paintings on this blog.  What was interesting to me was that a distant relative of mine in Telemark, Norway, Sigmund Groven who is a famous harmonica player sent me a Christmas card and it was a Nelly Bube painting.  Maybe since he has had an interest in Kazakhstan, he knew to send it to me.  In any case, I appreciate those in the artistic and music fields, they know how to express themselves.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Great work, keep making art!

  2. 2

    Linda Brooks said,

    Looking for Nelly Bubes porcelain set of “TheNomads Inheritance” The porcelain was made in China through creative cooperation between Bube and the EMPIRE.KZ company. Any information you could find will be appreciated. Thanking you in advance, Linda

    • 3

      kazaknomad said,

      Linda, I don’t know anything about Nelly’s other business ventures. I am sorry I can’t help you. Cheers! KN


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

