Blowin’ in the Astana Wind

Don’t have much to write because I am so very tired and it is only Wednesday.  The most notable news about today is that the wind was so wicked and fierce that I had to hold on to the poles at the two stoplights while walking to and from our flat to work.  The ice is also tricky where the wind was forceful enough to push you along on the ice if on a slant anywhere.  Having lived in Almaty for over two years where there was rarely any wind, this is a new wonder to get used to.  The temperatures are warming up but we are in the sloppy season now, sleet, pellets of snow, rain and back to hardened snow again.  No fun to x-country skiing, but who has time for that?

I’ll be flying out to Kostanai for another recruiting trip with a work colleague named Irina.  I think I will be learning about her Korean roots though she was born in Kazakhstan and considers herself a Kazakhstani.  It will be fun to meet the students, especially those who want to practice their English on me.  In any case, I’ll be home on Saturday and then I have one day with my hubby before I take off early, early Monday morning for Boston.  The Narooz season is starting up as early as this Friday with an office party, Ken will go in my place. But for the next five days starting on Friday there will be no work done, offices will be closed. Just as well that I am away to the U.S. for the TESOL conference.

I just hope and pray that all my flights go on without a hitch.  The attached photo is of Aigerim and me at the Taras airport when they cancelled the flight due to high winds. All the other 15 passengers were turned away until we finally left at 1:00 a.m instead of our scheduled flight of 7:00 p.m.  Fortunately they gave us candles to see by and I had my Dell computer on which gave a kind of comforting glow in the darkened terminal.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Go here to see the original: Blowin' in the Astana Wind « Kazakhnomad's Blog: A Westerner's … […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

