Thoughts on Leadership (Part III)

Enough about leadership?  We need GOOD leadership but tomorrow I’ll turn to quotes about education which is also critically needed in Central Asia.  We are doing something about that in the capital of Kazakhstan, Astana.  I’m told this is the first coldest capital in the world and second most remote after Ulan Batar in Mongolia.  Chilling thoughts!  For now, we are trying to be leaders in staying warm!!!

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

“Would you please tell me, which way I ought to go from here?” “That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.

Ghandi: “As for my leadership, if I have it, it has not come for any seeking; it is a fruit of faithful service.  A man can as little discard such leadership as he can the color of this skin and since I have become an integral part of the nation, it has to keep me with all my faults and shortcomings, of some of which I am painfully conscious and of many others of which candid critics, thanks be to them, never fail to remind me.”

Theodore Hesburgh: “The very essence of leadership is that you have to have a vision.”

“Dogs bark and the caravan goes further.”  The same about leaders, small people try to profane, offend them, but leaders know who they are and only smile in the answer.

The leader is not a manipulator, the leaders are the motivator.

Peter Drucker: “The leaders who work most effectively, it seems to me, never say “I” and that’s not because they have trained themselves not to say “I.”  They don’t think “I.” They think “we,” they think team.”

Having seen dozens of films in which castles were stormed by a cast of thousands, I asked my history teacher, “How do they get large numbers of men in real life to storm castles and the like when it appears to be and indeed often is certain death?”  The teacher’s answer was memorable:  “That’s leadership for you.”  So the job of the leader is to get people to do things they have never done before, to do things that are not routine, to take risks and sometimes even to die for the common good.”

Tomorrow I will write more about educators, good ones!!!

Leave a Reply

