Igor’s Grandmother Helped Raise Her Younger Siblings

Grandparents are important and influential persons in all people’s lives. They are those people who take care of you and love you. They are special persons who can give you wise advice. As a child I was unbelievably close to one of my grandparents. Her name was Nadezhda and she was born in 1924 in Almaty. Her parents died early, so at the age of eighteen she started to work a lot to earn enough money for her three smaller sisters and two brothers. The only job that she could find for her first time was a ticket seller in the nearest theater.

It was hard times because World War Two drained all the human and food resources from USSR. Nevertheless, neighbors and just, good people helped my grandmother to raise her sisters and brothers. My grandmother wanted to get a better job, but she didn’t have any specialization. That is why she spent all her free time studying and then she was accepted in college. Later she graduated as an accountant. Time passed and life got easier, grandma succeeded in work and married only when all of her sisters and brothers finished their education and were able to care about themselves.

My grandma has always been a gentle and kind person. She taught me respect for others, and showed me with her experience that love and feelings are important things in my life and that I don’t have to pay attention to material things or what people look like externally. Even though grandma was old, she always had a strong desire to enjoy life. Every morning when it was very early, she liked to go to the supermarket. She said that going shopping early in the morning was better because she could find everything fresh such as vegetables and fruits. I think she was right about that. After my grandmother bought everything, she always liked to cook for the whole family. On the weekends she used to go to countryside where she had small house. I remember myself helping grandma to plant trees near that house.

Furthermore, my grandmother was always in tune to the new things in the world. For example, she always cared about fashion, economics or important issues in the world. Grandmother’s goal was to see our family full of happiness and to see us growing up healthy and happy because she wanted me and my family to have a successful future. My grandmother died three years ago, but only now I realize how special she was and how much love she had given to me.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] Read more here: Igor's Grandmother Helped Raise Her Younger Siblings … […]

  2. 2

    yuliya said,

    Hi Kazakhnomad,

    I see you are doing well, and as usually busy serving the Kazakhstani community.
    Sorry it is not a comment, just the only possible way to contact you.
    Could you give me your email, mobile # is not enough.

    • 3

      kazaknomad said,

      Yuliya, I am back in Almaty at coffeemania on a Sat. afternoon. Wonderful to be in our “temporary” home until we move in 10 days. I’ll write from my yahoo address to you, okay?

  3. 4

    […] this link: Igor's Grandmother Helped Raise Her Younger Siblings … Share and […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

