Zhuldyz’s Grandparents Celebrated their Golden Anniversary

Family is one of the most valuable things in your life. Consequently, we can not live without our parents, brothers, and sisters. They always support, help, give some advice and also offer love to you.

I am going to write about my father’s parents, because they are still alive. My mother’s parents died so many years ago, I had never met them. My father’s parents live in a village, which is called Shalkar, located in the southwestern part of Kazakhstan. My grandfather was born in 1923. His name is Kuleken and he is 86 years old. He was a driver, but now he is a pensioner. He is very kind and smart and he knows a lot of interesting things. He is 18 years older than my grandma.

My grandmother’s name is Lidiya and she was born in 1941 in Shenbertal, a very small village. One interesting thing is that my grandmother never worked. She always was a housewife. The second interesting one is that my grandparents have 12 children. It is unusual for nowadays. They are 6 boys and 6 girls. My father is the third child in the family. They have about 40 grandchildren and 2 grand grandchildren. They have been living together for 50 years. According to the Kazakh traditions we call this period as the Golden Wedding. They celebrated this holiday on 15th August.

According to our Kazakh traditions parents have to live with the youngest son. Therefore, they live with my uncle. His name is Nurbol and he is 30 years old. He has his own family which consists of four people. My grandparents love their children and grandchildren.  When my grandfather was young, he drove a tractor in order to provide some families with food, because it was the hardest time for everyone during war time between 1941-1945.

I already mentioned that my grandma was a housewife, hence she taught us to cook, especially our national food “beshbarmak.” My grandmother always taught us to be kind and to respect elder people. She told us about our Kazakh values which are our culture, traditions and customs. I am so happy that I have the best grandparents in the world. I love them very much. I am proud of them too much.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Signe said,

    Ha! Her grandmother never worked and she had 12 children!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

