Ainiziya’s Great Grandfather Survived in Siberia for being an intellectual

I am going to write about my grandfather from my father’s side. The reason why I have chosen him is that his life seemed to me to be rich, full of interesting facts but sometimes problems.  My grandfather’s name was Abibolla Karkinbayev and he was born in May 12, 1930. His father, Karkynbay, was a doctor, astrologer and theologist. He was educated and could write and speak in old Latin, German, Arab languages. Also he could freely speak in Russian; it was quite unusual for those times.

My great-grandfather has studied in Kazan, the capital city of Tatarstan. In 1925-1926 he built a mosque and medrese. During those times children could not study anywhere, so he taught them at medrese. It was prohibited to teach people in those times, nevertheless he continued to teach. Soon he was arrested for his activities and for being educated. In 1938 were many fights with mullahs and my great-grandfather was sent to Malaya Zemlya, Sibir (North). Last few years he was a scribe, because only a few could read and write. However, this did not stop him to become sick. He was in Sibir (Siberia) from 1938 up to 1946. In 1946 he came back to Kazakhstan an ill person and after a few years he was gone…

Coming back to my grandfather, he studied at Narkhoz (KazEU now) university. After finishing his studies, he came back to his village. There he met my grandmother and they got married. In few years my grandfather got the highest positions in Public sector, specifically speaking in Sovkhoz sector. It comes to my mind, when my grandfather was alive; our house was full of people and our dastarkhan (table) was full of food and milk products. Those were the times of deficit, deficit of everything. We rarely faced those deficit problems with the help of my grandfather. Probably because my grandfather worked and got highest positions while my grandmother never worked. She even does not have a higher education. Nevertheless, I can surely say that she is very wise person.

I do not remember all the moments which were spent with my grandfather, because I was too young to remember, but I do remember some moments. And they never leave my memory of him. Even if I was too young, I could feel how he loved me, how he loved his family and his country. From my point of view he did his best to his village and his country as well. And as for me and my family he would always be the ideal and the best grandfather ever.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] original post here: Ainiziya's Great Grandfather Survived in Siberia for being an … Share and […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

