Manarbek’s Grandmother was “Heroine Mother”

For somebody she is – mother, for somebody else – sister, but for me she is grandma. I have imagined her long, gray hair, wrinkles on her face and deep brown eyes. Her name is Nazira Kazmaganbetovna, who now is 77 years old…She was born in Aralsk. According to her words her father was a fisherman, and of course, her favorite food is – fish.

Somehow I had asked her, whether she was happy with her life. Despite the fact that her childhood had passed through Stalin’s reprisal and the Second World War, her answer was: “Yes, I am happy!” But in her voice it was possible to notice both pleasure and sadness… Having breathed deeply, she continued: “In 17 years I was married to your grandfather but he passed away in 1975 and I stayed alone with 10 children.”

I also knew that after death of my grandfather it was difficult for her, she worked as the nurse in hospital. But despite all these difficulties she has not surrendered: she brought up children and educated them. In 2006 she received the award from the President of the country, a medal “Mother, the heroine”. Now she has 18 grandsons, 3 great-grandsons.

First I’d like to thank God that he gave her a long life and patience at difficult moments in her life and my grandma for her wisdom, kindness and for my Mom…

Leave a Reply

