Kirill’s Grand, Grandfather led a heroic life

Ivan Shuba is my Grand grandfather. I want to write about him because of his heroic life, which I have heard about from my Grandmother (his daughter). He died not so long ago so I remember him well. When I looked at him he seemed very strong and confident, which evoked good feelings in me. Grand granddad Ivan was and is a good example of the real man as we all are supposed to be. I knew him and visited several times, but I was just a kid and that is why we never spoke to each other like adult to adult. Ivan was a short-spoken person and did not like to talk a lot. He took a part in two World Wars and managed to stay alive. 

My Grandmother told me a lot about him and his heroic life. She told me about him during the First World War when he was a little boy helping his family in the garden to provide food for the army. During World War II when he was seriously injured he continued to fight. He was the Senior Sergeant and drove a car in the Second World War.  

He was born in 1909 in Ust-Kamenogorsk city, East Kazakhstan, and spent all his life there except for a war time. I do not know any details about his childhood but my Grandmother told me that he had a general secondary education and took special driving course. After the war he was working as a driver for all his life. He was able to drive all types of the vehicles (including trucks and passenger busses) and was considered to be a high professional.  

It is because of his and his comrades’ efforts we live in this world now as a free society in the peaceful independent country. I hope that all modern young people can stand against the enemy and defend their country when it is necessary but we all prefer to live in peace and prosperity and respect others countries and peoples.  

Conclusion: Remember your relatives, love them, respect what they have done, do not repeat they mistakes and try not to judge them.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    [...] post: Kirill's Grand, Grandfather led a heroic life « Kazakhnomad's Blog … Share and [...]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

