Positive Feedback, Praise and Parties!!!

Classes are over for fall semester 2009 and not a moment too soon but we did have a fun time!!! Most all of my 100 students that I taught in five different classes hung in there with me, even the ones I’m failing.  One wants to take from me again in the same class!?!

Feedback from my writing students (you’d expect they would write more, right?) This was from one of my more prolific, female writers. Makes you wish you would have a whole class full of these types but then there would be so much more to read of their assignments.  

Well, let me just express my gratitude to you for this course. For me personally, you really made a difference in every aspect. When I first came to this university I was furious about the fact that I had to take those 4 English courses that the department forces us to take. To be honest, I didn’t care much to study during Academic Listening I and Speaking, I just didn’t feel that it was something that I’d be interested in. But your course was different, and I mean it. You really helped me realize that writing is good, especially if it’s done in a proper way.

I’ve learned so much from you and from this course that I don’t even know how to convey my gratitude through this electronic letter. Although I am sure that you’ll feel how meaningful and important this course turned out to be for me.

Thank you very much for all the wisdom you’ve conveyed during all this time. And thank you for the individual approach to every single student, I must tell you that’s a very rare thing to encounter at our university.

Anyways, I wish you a joyous Christmas and a Happy New Year.

The following is from a student who showed up 50% of the classes and I told him several times he would fail my class.  He showed up the last day and he still had this positive feedback for me:

It was a great pleasure to get acquainted with you! I really appreciate your will to teach us something that will ALWAYS help us.HAPPY NEW YEAR !!!I was lucky to meet you:)  Will be lucky to see you next term.

Another male writing student wrote:  ,i hope that you will stay here in Kazakhstan, and exactly at our university, your teaching policy is very helpful, understandable and intersting! Happy New Year, best wishes for you!

 

Feedback from my listening students, my morning class had a pizza party waiting for me, pizza they bought at Pizza Hut.  When I read this, I had a lump in my throat all over again:

Unfortunately I couldn’t come today. But I wanted to tell you that you are a GREAT TEACHER! I’m so happy that my first English class in my first studing year was your class! You really improved my knowledges, not only in English! Thank you for these live lectures on Wensdays! That really helped! THANK YOU for a HUGE IMPACT in my education!  YOU ARE THE BEST!

 Another female student from my morning listening class wrote:

thank you for everything you have done for us. This Fall semester for almost of us was the first and you helped to make it much interesting, you tought us for lots of things and we want to say to you THANKS! Thank you very much, we really appreciate you!  hope we will meet you on campus next semester!

 This is from a male student who almost failed the class:

 i hope that i’ll see you on the next semestr here. Thank you for your teaching, you are very kindfull! And you are strict and that people needed to KZ! Thank you!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR… 🙂

 This guy always made me smile, check out his p.s., you can tell he lived in the U.S. for a year.  

thank you very much for teaching us ELN! i am very glad that i took your class because i like the way you teach and the way american teachers communicate with their students:)thank you very much, have a great New Year:)  p.s. congrats on Vikings`s win over Bears last week:)

Leave a Reply

