Nariman’s family from Uralsk, Kazakhstan

My family lives in Uralsk, which is situated in the north-west part of Kazakhstan. It is the only city in Kazakhstan that is located in Europe. Thanks to it our football federation joined UEFA (the Union of European Football Association) in 2002. Almost all my relatives live in Uralsk, and few live here, in Almaty.

Unfortunately I do not know my grandparents from the mother side, because they died when my mother was a little girl, and we have only one old picture of my grandmother. It is the only thing that we have about my mother’s parents. It is sad that this picture is all that remains of them. I wish I knew more about them, but my mother has never told us anything about them.

My grandfather’s name is Fazil. He was born in 1910, in a city called Chingirlau, a small city, approximately 200 km from Uralsk. He participated in World War II, but he did not like to talk about it, so we do not know much of that period of his life. When I was a little boy, I used to visit them with my younger brother, and I very rarely talked to him, because last years of his life he had an illness, and he did not communicate much.

My grandmother’s name is Baiganim. She was born in 1913, and all her life she worked on the factory. The district they lived is called Zachagansk, about 10 km from the center of the city. Today we live in the same district, and almost all our closest relatives live there. My grandparents had 5 children. They are Nadya, Rakhim, Sveta, Khakim, Kasym. Khakim is my father.

My grandparents’ family is a typical family of that period in USSR. They had relatively many children, worked hard in order to feed children and themselves, did not have excess of money like all other millions of families all over the biggest country of the world. My father used to tell me a lot of stories from his childhood, when they live in small house with 2 rooms and 7 people in it. Even though it may seem sad story, my father’s voice always enthusiastic when he comes back to his young ages. I can see from him that they were happy. He used to tell me about fishing he spent all nights and days long, friends, soviet parties, about sisters and brothers. Also I remember the story when my grandparents received an apartment with 5 rooms after a long staying in a line. That summer day my daddy got full can of worms he used as bait. He planned to go to fish after a dinner with friends, and when he came home someone told him great news about new flat. It is funny how a young guy got disappointed because it meant that he had to miss fishing, because they had to move into new flat.

Even though I did not know much about my grandparents, even I hardly can recall their faces, I am truly grateful to them because they gave lives to my father and to my mother and all my relatives. They also sustained a great challenge of Soviet people in the World War II; together with millions of other people they liberate themselves and Europe. I respect them and wish my life was as much as useful and filled with meaning as my grandparents’ lives.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Here is the original post: Nariman's family from Uralsk, Kazakhstan « Kazakhnomad's Blog: A … […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

