GREAT SPEAKERS in my classrooms

scott talking musicThanks to a LOT of help from my friends, I have had some very good speakers come to talk to my three different listening classes.  So far, I have had six speakers videotaped. The students are loving it!!!  These first year and graduate students have heard different accents and witnessed various styles of presenting.  Yesterday I had Scott come to talk about a favorite topic for many young people, “How to Make a Music CD.”  I don’t know how many budding musicians we have that have the same dream as Scott had ,but he was very thorough and entertaining.  I hope I see good, typed up notes from my listening students tomorrow.  video cameraThanks Scott!!!

Yesterday morning I had a former MBA student come to talk about “Women against Violence” at the AIWC (Almaty Intl. Women’s Club) meeting. Katya did a GREAT job, she was very poised in front of about 35 international women talking about something close to her heart. (bride kidnapping, human trafficking, etc.) I finally found out from Katya why this topic is such a passion for her. Her explanation will go into a later blog entry.

 Elena and classThe night before I had another woman who I recently met at AIWC come and talk about something close to her heart.  Elena was originally from Uzbekistan but has her citizenship from the U.S. and received her MBA degree there, then went to Cambridge to receive her MPA degree also.  I wanted her to talk a bit about student centered vs. teacher centered issues since she has experienced both.  Later, she had very interactive discussion with my masters students about consumer rights.

Tonight I will have Kathy Banham’s husband come and talk about his place of employment at Deloitte and what brought them both here from Australia.  I feel very blessed with all those who are coming to my aid during this tough time of tangling with students over their rough draft papers.  Some are pretty unsightly, but by next week I hope to see better final versions from ALL of them.

Leave a Reply

