American Football in Central Asia (Part I)

PA250036What fun to be on a soccer field about an hour west of the center of the city of Almaty with the Tien Shan mountains ringing the southern horizon.  It was breathtaking to look to the south despite the haze.  Also to see our university boys play American football, I had four students dress in the blue and white uniforms.  The other team, the Snowcats, had travelled from Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan for this important game.  Our team won 33-12 but the other side put up a noble fight.  See the photos I took of the fall day, tomorrow I’ll show more of the team players and people I talked to.  For me it was a real social event meeting new people and connecting with old friends.PA250011

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aybar said,

    Hi, I’m from Kazakhstan, but I’m exchange student in U.S.A now. And I’m from Kozha tribe. I have read information about Kazakh tribes, most of that is true, but you have some different explanations. And there is not only Kozha tribe considered like royalty, but also Tore, they are grandsons of Genghis Khan, from his first son.

  2. 2

    Merey Zeinesh said,

    Hey I am from Kazakhstan, and in Ust-Kamenogorsk now, and I palyed american Football in the American high school, varsity team, for Running back position, and Iam a senior now, so.. I WANT TO Play !!!! and how I can do that??? i heared u guys play over there in Almaty so what should I do to get in a team?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

