Our Guests: Anara and her family

What fun to meet and spend two days with Anara and her family.  We got to know her and her mother Encar better, also there were two daughters under the age of three to add to this mix. (think distractions) I asked both of them to tell me some Kazakh proverbs and what I learned from this is that proverbs don’t just come out at one’s bidding. I know this from prior experience that you have to talk on other subjects for them to erupt into the middle of the conversation. However, one proverb that Anara focused on was: “The daughter is a guest.” This means that whenever girls marry they leave their home, seemingly for good.

Anara explained how there are really two kinds of events when a marriage happens, that is if there is no “kidnapping of the bride” which is cheaper and more like elopement. The first is when the father has asked the courting man for a kind of dowry and the husband-to-be is to come up with that be it money or livestock or whatever is agreed upon. Everyone is sad, there is crying and wailing (I’m not sure if this is put on for drama effect or if in fact the daughter is really going to be missed). Then, the second ceremony is when the bride does all the crying and when she enters into her new family of her husband’s family there is a certain protocol of who says what when and she is to bow to each member of the family and someone is to take her veil away. It seemed fairly complex in the explaining of a Kazakh tradition in English. Encar, Anara’s mother would say things to her in Kazakh, then Anara would translate that to me.

I got some facts wrong about Kunaev in my blog post yesterday (Thanks for pointing that out Otto). Because of this tedious procedure of waiting for the translation and writing it down with wrong spelling, I made a major mistake. Kunaev was NOT a good Kazakh. Also, if I do NOT write something down I hear or think I heard, should not trust in my rusty memory.

Leave a Reply

