Kazakh Proverbs about Oaths, Vows and Speaking

“If you are guiltless, don’t take a vow.”

“The man who does not keep his word is a dead man.”

“The one who speaks thoughtlessly will die without being sick.”

A precious word is of greater value than a special gift.

“If you speak gentle words, the snake will be drawn out; if you speak harsh words it will drive the Muslim from his faith.”

“Misuse of what was entrusted is a great shame” (Amantqa qiyanat, zor uyat)

All the above Kazakh proverbs are familiar to our culture, similar to “A man’s word is his bond.” I believe there needs to be more of the truth telling and less of the shame of misusing (i.e. telling lies) in our society. I think I understood that last proverb right, correct me if I am wrong. I think this means that we are entrusted with truths and we need to dispense with what is true to others in order to honor what we heard when we speak to others.

I forgot to add the following proverb that Erik had categorized under friendship in my earlier blog. I like this one particularly because I know some perfectionist type people who this sadly fits them, they have very few friends:

“He who seeks a faultless/perfect friend remains friendless.”

Leave a Reply

