Kazakhstan vs. Kyrgyzstan in American Football!!!

crowd in standsblue huddlefour AUCA playersHead Referee with playersKIMEP playersAUCA congratulatingPeter with cupKen with Kazakh flagBishkek cheerleaders

My perspective of the American football played yesterday between two Central Asian teams is a bit different from my husband’s.  I stood on top of a snowbank at about the 40 yard line among the cute little, Bishkek cheerleaders.  They said their team from Kyrgyzstan was undefeated for the past six games.  Yet in yesterday’s game their boys struggled to get the first touchdown after the guys in blue had already scored two.  The Bishkek team looked taller and more like American football players with their padding and smart looking jerseys of maroon and white.  I kept hearing the crowd behind me cheering “Bossy, Bossy!” or something like that.  I asked the AUCA cheerleaders what that meant, their answer “Snowcats” and the Kazakhstan team players are called “Titans.”

“Remember the Titans” because they won yesterday’s game even though they looked shorter and didn’t have the fanciest uniforms like the Bishkek team did. When offense traded places on the field with the defense there were several players who had to share pads and jersey, I actually felt sorry for the Titans even though they were winning. I have to admit my loyalties were divided.  I used to teach at the Bishkek school that started out as KAUF 15 years ago and now is known as AUCA (American University in Central Asia).  So, my favorite runner to watch was number 80 on the “Snowcat” team.  He was tall, slim and quick and he would often catch the quarterback’s long passes.  Great passes on both sides, so the QBs get much credit.  The Titans more so because they didn’t even have a coach.  They had asked Ken, my husband, but he had said no, he opted for reffing. 

Apparently there was a quarter break which I thought was the half.  The halftime show happened after Steve Green, the HEAD ref called the girls out to do their dance routines.  Keep in mind there was NO scoreboard with no time to show minutes remaining so I kept in my head what the score was.  My contribution to the game, besides watching “our guys” was supplying a notebook that was used by Dr. Bruce Taylor, the Vice President of Academic Affairs.  He had penned in large numerals of 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the downs so the crowd and the other team could see on the opposite side of the field yardage needed to complete their 10 yards as the teams advanced up and down the field.     

 

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Oskemen said,

    Казакстан – алга! We champions in all things 😉

  2. 2

    Merey Zeinesh said,

    Kazkahstan won, and is that the KIMEP team ???? was palying for KAzakhstan?

  3. 3

    Батырхан said,

    The other day I was volunteering with players from a major league football team at a construction site of an affordable housing project. Apparently they were sent by the club owners or something to do this ‘humane work’ as they didn’t show any desire to do real work. Those young footballers were as strong as one can be but they were unwilling to do any heavy physical labour. The site manager had a hard time convincing them to do roofing and framing instead of painting, which was assigned to volunteer ladies. The IQ of the players seemed to be, well, below average. I was also reading that the untreated brain injuries are pretty common as the team owners don’t like the players to be on hospital beds but out in the field playing and earning them $$$.

    Bottomline: I will think twice before sending my sons to play (American) football. 🙂

  4. 4

    kazaknomad said,

    You must be a Kazakh living in the U.S. to be doing volunteer work at a site that is probably like Habitat for Humanity. I’m saddened that these big hefty players didn’t want to over exert themselves with the hard manual labor. Prima donnas. Unfortunately, there is a sense of “entitlement” for many in the U.S. and they are only “specialized” in doing what they do best hit the opponent as hard as they can to win. Coaches too can be faulted for caring more about winning than about the future of their players with getting a good education. Weird game, I know. Still, as an American, I like American football as much as I like baseball but I don’t follow either too closely.

    Now, your football or soccer as we call it in the U.S. is a good sport but can get a little tedious if no one scores and the ball keeps going back and forth up and down the field. By all means, send your sons to soccer camps or other athletics as long as you can keep them away from the awful computer games that are out there. Used to be where kids played pick up ball when we had bigger families and the mother stayed at home. Now, we have a different story of single parent households and young people who don’t want to do the hard work.

    Nope, we are far removed from what made this country a great nation back when it was 50% agrarian. Both of my grandfathers could milk cows, plow, build a shed, harvest, be a mechanic for their machinery, they were a “jack of all trades.” They did EVERYTHING in order to make their farms workable. Thanks for your insights into what you see has gone to seed in our country. It saddens me.

  5. 5

    Батырхан said,

    I was never interested in North American footbal. Could never understand the rules. Looks so brutal. Soccer is safer I think but they have to be careful when hitting the ball with their heads.

  6. 6

    Батырхан said,

    And no, I do not live in the USA and have never even been to your great country. I am a brand new canuck 🙂

  7. 7

    kazaknomad said,

    Wonderful!!! My husband and I were just in Canada several weeks ago in Moose Jaw and Swift Current. My guess is that you are living either in Toronto, Ottawa or Vancouver!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

