Archive for May 1, 2012

Let the Defense Begin!!!

My former student Aigerim responded immediately to my blog of yesterday.  Aigerim referred to Madina who I don’t know but liked how she articulated her situation in Kazakhstan through the posting in Vox Populi.  Aigerim presses on a point that I want to make about another former colleague of mine who taught in the same English department in Almaty as I did.  We all got bruised and bumped around by the supposed “administrators” who ultimately “cut off their nose to spite their face” in the decisions they make.  It seems hard to think that their way of administration is democratic or fair.  Nay, I witnessed many injustices.  I like what Aigerim in Astana wrote:

“This young woman, Madina is an image of modern Kazakhs, they see the wrong but are not confident to make a step for a change. Yet Madina is different, she talks on this issue. She just needs support to act. Sadly, most of initiatives of activists are buried into bureaucracy and state control.”

Yes, this is what is happening to my friend in Almaty. Vera recently wrote to me about her problems with the current administration where she is trying to obtain her MA degree in TESOL (Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages).

“Just imagine! Still struggling with KIMEP, trying to defend my thesis. They haven’t given MA Degree to anybody from TESOL. This is the fifth (!) year of our study!!! I’m really fed up with the way they treat people at KIMEP.

Our current advisor, who started this program five years ago, is a very difficult person to deal with. He informed us that he would take a leave for half a year. That means that if we don’t defend in May, the defense will be postponed until next Fall. Then another Advisor will be appointed. With his/ her view… And this will be an endless process. I said that I would give up then.”

This is part of what I wrote back to my beleaguered, Kazakhstani friend Vera,

“This is really depressing news! They are more than willing to accept your tuition money for five years but not let you graduate? It would appear that they don’t want anyone in the Language Center to graduate with an MATESOL degree. You have struggled and worked far too long for this obstacle you are encountering to not be recognized by the top levels of management. The university liberally gives out MA degrees in other business departments throughout the campus to people far less qualified than you and your two other colleagues.

Why should they be holding out in the English department except it would threaten those questionable, Kazakh administrators who are on top who don’t have the credentials or know how. I believe it is really unconscionable for your advisor not to tie up loose ends before he leaves for the U.S.  Whoever is at the top with decision-making is not doing the MATESOL program any favors by making it look impossible to graduate with a graduate degree.  Most sad and perplexing.”

Aigerim is right, anyone who takes the initiative to improve themselves, especially with better education are buried under the weight of state controlled bureaucracy. I quake and shudder to think what will happen to the newly minted undergraduates of the new university in Astana once the first batch graduates in 2014. I suspect this newer generation will not be bland in their revolt from the clueless status quo who were Soviet trained but Kazakh lazy. There I said it, let the defense-iveness begin!

Leave a comment »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers