Great Wedding Dresses from Kazakhstan

red wedding dressblue wedding dressThese are traditional Kazakh wedding dresses one can buy at Tsum department store in Almaty, Kazakhstan.  I don’t understand all the intricacies of the patterns and designs but I think they are very pretty.  Usually brides nowadays use a western style wedding dress.  It’s lovely to see the dresses that were used in earlier, happier years.  The girl in mosaic below was taken from a place along the way to Charyn Canyon.  I thought it was colorful and showed the traditional style which young, Kazakh girls used to wear.girl mosaic

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mk. Lina said,

    Those are beautiful dresses~! :))

  2. 2

    I like the first dress most.

  3. 3

    I noticed more and more brides using traditional dresses, especially in the villages.

    I like the second dress, although it’s more a modern version of the traditional dress. Especially the color is beautiful.

    Nice photos. Thank you.

  4. 4

    batirkhan said,

    ‘Used to wear’. So true. The Soviet stigma makes our young to select all the dark shades of blue, black and gray… Once a few years ago I decided to literally dump all of my clothes (99% dull deep dark colours) and go on a shopping spree to give myself a new look that would more truthfully represent who I really am. I had strongly felt the need to shed off my old alter imposed upon me by the environmet. Interestingly enough, I got on with all light and brighter colours ever since. :)

  5. 5

    sam said,

    i love the blue one!
    it fit so slim!

  6. 6

    tina said,

    i bought all of them and wore the top one to my wedding. i was the prettiest woman there!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

