Archive for July 9, 2009

Many Nations Represented in Kazakhstan

British, German, Aussie friendsYesterday I put up photos of buildings in Almaty, today I will show some countries that are represented in Kazakhstan of the 120 nations known to reside here. Some are European and friends of mine with the oil industry or with banking, other photos are just of the costumes representing Korea or Ukraine. I LOVE the color, mixture and diversity of living in Almaty!!! You just don’t get this kind of texture in northwestern Minnesota, that’s for sure!Indian childrenFrench friendKorean costumesUkrainiansSouth Africa bossAmericans

Comments (1) »

Photos of Almaty’s Eclectic Buildings

Eastern skyline and towerWhen in a time crunch, put up photos, I always say.  Lately, I’ve been fairly busy,  so I’ve neglected to write anything on my blog.  Too busy to even put photos up!!!  Therefore, I just went through some of my more recent photos of Almaty that didn’t make it into my blog already and I’ll share these with you.  They are from different seasons but show just how eclectic really Almaty is, but not as eclectic as Astana, the current capital of Kazakhstan.more apartmentsCell phone advertgreen Russian houseOpera HouseHigh Rise apartments

glass office buildingRussian Orthodox churchRamstor grocery store

Leave a comment »